Instagram link presents


+ guests

The Kanyu Tree have announced details of their debut album. ‘People Street’ will be released on Sony Music Ireland on September 30. The 10-track album includes previous singles ‘Radio’ and ‘Shelf Life’, and features their brand new single, ‘Slow’.

Fresh off a storming show at the Electric Picnic last Sunday, The band have just announced two album launch shows: one in Whelan’s Dublin on September 30 and one in the Roisin Dubh in Galway on October 6. Tickets for both dates are available this Friday (09.09) from usual outlets. The band is currently in the middle of a 25-date tour around the country, supporting Bressie on his solo tour. They also play Arthur’s Day on September 22.

Recorded in the UK, Dublin and Galway, ‘People Street’ was co-produced by the Cluskey brothers – guitarist Daniel (29), singer Shane (27) and bassist Oisin (25) – and hiphop icon Ali Shaheed Muhammad from A Tribe Called Quest.

The album was mixed in London by Chris Potter (The Verve, Keane). The album is available to pre-order now from the band’s website, and now. A special edition featuring 12 tracks will be available exclusively on iTunes.

The band have spent the summer of 2011 on the road, building a fanbase by playing a host of festivals including Oxegen, Electric Picnic, Castlepalooza, Sea Sessions, the Galway Arts Festival Big Top and Indiependence, as well as a number of headline shows and plum support slots.


€10 incl booking fee available from WAV Tickets [Lo-Call 1890 200 078]