Skip to main content



plus guests

Republic of Loose formed in Dublin in 2003. Their debut album “This is the Tomb of the Juice” was released on Big Cat Records in 2004 to critical acclaim in Ireland and the UK. Several tours of the U.K, US, and Europe followed including support slots with The Roots, The Neville Brothers, Dilated Peoples, Scissors Sisters, The Zutons and Alabama 3, with festival appearances at Glastonbury, T-In the Park, Reading/Leeds, Finsbury Fleadh, Furia France, Transmusikales, Nice Jazz and Oxegen Ireland. With a prestigious Meteor Ireland Music Award under their belts, the Loose went back to the studio in 2005 to begin work on the follow up to ‘This is the Tomb of the Juice’

In April 2006 Republic of Loose released their second album “Aaagh” on their own Loaded Dice Records. It debuted in the Irish album charts at No.2 receiving nominations for both Meteor and the prestigious Choice “Best Album” Awards. The album spawned four massive radio hits at home with lead single “Comeback Girl” receiving
huge airplay on U.S. radio stations Indie 103 and KCRW. This led to the lisencing of tracks from the album to ‘Real World’ producers Bunim-Murray on MTV in the US. The album spawned radio hits in France and as far afield as South-Africa, Indonesia and The Philippines. By the end of the year, the album had gone Platinum in Ireland.

Republic of Loose spent most of 2007 touring Europe and the US with sold out shows in France, Italy, Holland, New-York, Los Angeles and the U.K. A US tour with Snow Patrol preceded a series of headline gig’s in the US. In LA, the band were invited by Sex Pistol Steve Jones to perform on Jonseys Jukebox on indie.103 Later in 2007 Republic of Loose returned home to begin work on the follow up to Aaagh!.

While they were in the studio the band were approached by Sinead O’Connor to produce and perform on a track from her new album. The result was the mesmerizing Curtis Mayfield cover ‘We people(who are darker than blue). The band debuted the track with Sinead O’Connor at the 2008 Meteor Awards. As the new Loose album reached completion, Mick Pyro was invited to join Irelands leading musicians on a tribute to legendary Irish folk singer Ronnie Drew. The song brought together the finest talent Ireland has to offer on a moving tribute to the Dubliners singer.
The eagerly anticipated third album from Republic of Loose, ‘Vol IV Johnny Pyro and the Dance of Evil’ was released on May 2nd 2008. The album comes in at a ‘disc filling’ sixteen songs!, featuring guest vocals from US Hip-Hop legend Styles P and Sinead O’Connor. The album has already spawned two massive hits in ‘I Like Music’ and the bands biggest single to date ‘The Steady Song’

A national tour with sold out shows across Ireland followed. This included seven nights at Dublin’s prestigious Academy (1000 capacity). At the Dublin gig’s, the band were joined onstage by various special guests including Sinead O’Connor, Snow Patrol and Shane MacGowan.

2009 saw the Loose travelling back to the US for three sold out tours. They returned to Ireland to play at Oxegen 2009 and to open up for U2 at Croke Park on their 360 tour. In December 2009 Republic of Loose were nominated by Author Irvine Welsh in Q Magazines ‘Albums of the Century’.
The Loose have continued to license music to various films and TV shows including NBC and MTV in the US, Dr.Who confidential on the BBC and the new Gerard Depardieu film “Bouquet Final”.
Republic of Loose have been heating up the airwaves across Europe and America with national airplay from amongst others, Jo Whiley on Radio 1, Eddie Temple-Morris on Xfm, Dermot O’Leary on Radio 2, The Trophy Twins on Radio 1 and appearances on MTV2. Steve Jones has continued to champion the band in LA.


€22.50 available online from WAV Tickets [Lo-Call 1890 200 078] (50c per ticket service charge applies on phone, internet and credit card bookings)

Strictly over 18′s, I.D. may be required.


Whelan’s DJ w/ Late Bar from 10:30pm (Free Entry)