Skip to main content


Skinny Wolves Presents :




Confirm on facebook HERE



Formed in January 2009, Girls Names quickly garnered recognition outside of the confines of their hometown of Belfast with the release of their eponymous debut EP in 2010 through New York’s Captured Tracks. A mini album through London imprint Tough Love soon followed, setting the foundations for their critically acclaimed debut LP Dead To Me, released in April last year again by Tough Love in Europe and cult West Coast label Slumberland Records in the US. After a successful tour of Europe in October last year supporting stand alone single Black Saturday, Girls Names began to hint at a possible directional shift away from their often misperceived surf and indie-pop roots. Indeed, the band have expanded to a four-piece and have spent the last six months in virtual seclusion honing and developing a more progressive and expansive sound, feeding on the darker sides of Echo and The Bunnymen, Spacemen 3, Krautrock, Psychedelia, post-punk and David Bowie’s Low.



The “motorik” rhythm invented in the 70’s by the german group Neu! – a 4/4 throb devoid of fills or ornament, replicating the feeling of ceaseless movement – has been an increasingly frequent feature of underground rock these last couple of years, but few bands have used it as well as this Dublin trio on the opening track of their debut album. After four stabs of organ, Hi Tekk Train Wreck sprints away from the lights with a squeal of wheelspin, its motorik sounding like a customised and tuned Ford Focus on a suburban estate rather than a sedately cruising BMW on the autobahns. It’s fabuously exciting, and this asbo version of krautrock is repeated a couple of songs later, on Witch Hunt, which sounds like the result of Lemmy moving to Dusseldorf rather than forming Motorhead after being thrown out of Hawkwind. The other five tracks don’t proide quite the adrenalin rush, but fans of long, spacey drones will find plenty to enjoy in Twinkranes’ fearsome neo-psychedelia.
Micheal Hann – THE GUARDIAN



Since their launch over a year ago, I Am The Cosmos duo Ross Turner and Cian Murphy have been producing their very own distinctive brand of fabulous, soulful, electronic music. They have performed a series of live shows, which brought them considerable interest from BBC radio’s Across The Line music show, and enthusiastic reviews from the music blogs No Fear of Pop, 20JazzFunkGreats and Nialler9.

Recently, Ross and Cian have been putting the finishing touches to their highly anticipated debut album, from which Dangerous Minds are proud to present an Exclusive Premier of the track “Lost Rhythm” by I Am The Cosmos.

Going by this and their previous single “Yves Klein Blue” Ross and Cian are definitely on to a winner.
– Dangerous Minds Blog



€12 available online from WAV Tickets [Lo-Call 1890 200 078] (50c per ticket service charge applies on phone or creditcard bookings


Whelan’s Indie Club w/ Late Bar from 10:30pm or check out the bands playing The Midnight Hour in the upstairs venue (FREE ENTRY, 12am).